Due to the growing commercial relevance of “Rare Earths” (RE) in recent years, MCC has been devoting intense effort to their procurement and processing for some time now.

 

The 17 rare earths are a set of elements in the periodic table (“earth” is an old term for “oxide”). The set comprises the following elements, ordered by atomic number: Scandium (Sc, 21), Yttrium (Y, 39), the lanthanoids Lanthan (La, 57), Cerium (Ce, 58), Praseodymium (Pr,59), Neodymium (Nd, 60), Promethium (Pm, 61), Samarium (Sm, 62), Europium (Eu, 63), Gadolinium (Gd, 64), Terbium (Tb, 65), Dysprosium (Dy, 66), Holmium (Ho,67), Erbium (Er, 68), Thulium (Tm, 69), Ytterbium (Yb, 70) and Lutetium (Lu, 71).

 

Today it is hard to imagine everyday life without the RE metals and they have become indispensable for the manufacture of modern technologies. They can be used for a broad spectrum of applications:

 

  • In small amounts as a component in catalytic converters for cars, special steels, nickel-metal hydride batteries and high-performance permanent magnets of the kind used in generators for producing wind and hydro power.

 

  • Compounds of RE metals are used for the luminescent materials in LCD and plasma screens, LEDs and special types of glass with a high refractive index.

 

  • In industry, the RE metals and their salts are for instance used in catalysts for the petrochemical industry, as alloy additives, in polishing agents, ceramic capacitors, colour pigments and glass dyes.

 

The rare earth metals are found in approximately 100 known minerals such as monazite, bastnäsite and Xenotime and can never be mined alone. As a result, the refining process is extremely complex. The concentration of RE elements in the ore is site-specific and does not correspond to the actual technical requirements of the respective RE metals. In order to cover growing demand and offset Chinese export restrictions, new RE deposits are currently being investigated and developed all over the world. Besides sources in China, MCC is also able to draw on reliable and established sources in India.

Einen großen Zuwachs an wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung haben in den letzten Jahren die sogenannten „Seltenen Erden“ (SE) erfahren. Darum beschäftigt sich auch MCC seit längerer Zeit intensiv mit ihrer Beschaffung und Umarbeitung.

 

Die 17 „Seltenen Erden” sind eine Elementegruppe im Periodensystem, wobei „Erde“ ein früherer Ausdruck für „Oxid“ war. Zu ihnen gehören in der Reihenfolge ihrer Ordnungszahlen: Scandium (Sc, 21), Yttrium (Y, 39) sowie die Lanthanoide Lanthan (La, 57), Cer (Ce, 58), Praseodym (Pr, 59), Neodym (Nd, 60), Promethium (Pm, 61), Samarium (Sm, 62), Europium (Eu, 63), Gadolinium (Gd, 64), Terbium (Tb, 65), Dysprosium (Dy, 66),
Holmium (Ho, 67), Erbium (Er, 68), Thulium (Tm, 69), Ytterbium (Yb, 70) und Lutetium (Lu, 71).

 

Die SE-Metalle sind aus unserem Alltag nicht mehr wegzudenken und für die Herstellung moderner Technologien inzwischen unverzichtbar. Sie bieten ein breites Anwendungsspektrum:

 

  • In kleinen Mengen als Bestandteil von Autoabgaskatalysatoren, Spezialstählen, Nickel-Metallhydrid-Akkumulatoren und Hochleistungs-Permanentmagneten, wie sie in Generatoren für die Wind- und Wasserkrafterzeugung eingesetzt werden.

 

  • Verbindungen der SE-Metalle werden für die Leuchtstoffe von LCD- und Plasmabildschirmen, für LED’s und in Spezialgläsern mit hoher Brechzahl eingesetzt.

 

  • Industriell werden die SE-Metalle und deren Salze beispielsweise in Katalysatoren für die Petrochemie, als Legierungszusätze, in Poliermitteln, keramischen Kondensatoren, sowie in Farbpigmenten und Glasfarbstoffen eingesetzt.

 

Die Metalle der „Seltenen Erden” finden sich in etwa 100 bekannten Mineralen, wie z.B. Monazit, Bastnäsit und Xenotim und können nie allein abgebaut werden. Ihre Aufbereitung ist daher sehr aufwändig.  Das Verhältnis der Elemente der SE im Erz ist fundortspezifisch und deckt sich nicht mit dem tatsächlichen technischen Bedarf an jeweiligen SE-Metallen. Zur Deckung der steigenden Nachfrage und zur Kompensation der chinesischen Exportbeschränkungen werden zurzeit weltweit neue SE-Vorkommen erkundet und erschlossen. Die MCC kann hier neben Quellen aus China auf zuverlässige und etablierte Quellen aus Indien zurückgreifen.