Plastics additives are one of the core competencies of MCC’s activities. This area mainly involves additives for the PVC stabilisers industry.

 

Before PVC can be processed into products, it has to be blended with special additives that have a crucial influence on the performance properties of the PVC product. The properties PVC is required to have are extremely diverse – as are the areas of application for the additives.

 

The most important additives for use in PVC are substances that improve physical properties such as temperature, light and weather resistance, toughness, elasticity and transparency. Additives are also used to improve workability. All the substances are permanently bonded with the finished PVC product.

 

The PVC additives used today have to satisfy demanding requirements. They have to be used in minimum amounts to achieve maximum effect – without that effect being compromised by the various processes used for the production of the respective moulded component. The PVC additives have to give the finished product the desired properties for the duration of its useful life.

 

In line with changing environmental attitudes, the PVC-processing industry has decided to ban heavy metal-based stabiliser systems from the market (Vinyl 2010). In accordance with the new requirements, MCC has switched its focus to new, eco-friendly raw materials. In future, new products such as various metal acetylacetonates will replace the old lead-based products.

 

Even if it isn’t always obvious at first glance – our products are in use almost everywhere you look, helping to make your life easier and more enjoyable.

Eine Kernkompetenz der MCC-Aktivitäten liegt im Bereich der Kunststoffadditive. Hierbei handelt es sich hauptsächlich um Additive für die PVC-Stabilisatoren Industrie.

 

Bevor PVC zu Produkten weiterverarbeitet werden kann, muss es mit speziellen Zusatzstoffen gemischt werden, die die Gebrauchseigenschaften des PVC-Produktes maßgeblich beeinflussen. Die benötigten Eigenschaften von PVC sind sehr vielfältig – genau wie die Anwendungsgebiete der Additive.

 

Die wichtigsten Additive für den Einsatz im PVC sind Stoffe zur Verbesserung physikalischer Eigenschaften wie Temperatur-, Licht- und Wetterbeständigkeit, Zähigkeit, Elastizität und Transparenz. Alle Stoffe sind im PVC-Fertigprodukt fest eingebunden.

 

An die heute eingesetzten PVC-Additive werden hohe Anforderungen gestellt. Sie müssen in möglichst geringer Dosierung eine hohe Wirkung aufweisen, die durch die unterschiedlichen Herstellungsprozesse für das jeweilige Kunststoff-Formteil nicht beeinträchtigt werden darf. Die PVC-Additive müssen dem Fertigprodukt die gewünschten Eigenschaften für die gesamte Gebrauchsdauer verleihen.

 

Aufgrund des veränderten Umweltbewusstseins hat sich auch die PVC-Verarbeitende Industrie dazu entschlossen, schwermetallhaltige Stabilisatorensysteme vom Markt zu verbannen (Vinyl 2010). Den neuen Anforderungen entsprechend hat MCC den Schwerpunkt auf neue umweltfreundliche Rohstoffe gelegt. Neue Produkte wie z.B. verschiedene Metallacetylacetonate ersetzen zukünftig die alten bleibehafteten Produkte.
 

Auch wenn es nicht immer auf den ersten Blick erkennbar ist – unsere Produkte sind fast überall im Einsatz und machen Ihnen das Leben schöner und leichter.